Shoplifting in Florida
Shoplifting is a crime in Florida and is punishable by law. The penalties for shoplifting depend on the value of the merchandise stolen, as well as the number of prior convictions the offender has.
The first step in shoplifting is to take merchandise from a store without paying for it. This can be done in a number of ways, including concealment, switching price tags, or removing security devices. Once the merchandise is taken from the store, the offender must then leave the premises without being detected. If they are caught before leaving, they may be subject to detention by store security.
The value of the merchandise stolen will determine the severity of the charge. For instance, if the value of the merchandise is less than $100, the offender will be charged with a misdemeanor and can face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If the value of the merchandise is more than $100, the offender will be charged with a felony and can face up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
The number of prior convictions an offender has will also affect the penalties they face. For example, an offender with no prior convictions who is caught shoplifting for the first time will likely receive a lighter sentence than an offender with multiple prior convictions. However, even first-time offenders can face serious penalties, including jail time and fines.
Shoplifting is a crime that can have serious consequences. Those who are convicted of shoplifting can face jail time, fines, and a criminal record. If you have been charged with shoplifting, it is important to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you navigate the legal process and defend your rights.
Shoplifting is very common, here are some statistics of shoplifting in the state of Florida:
- In 2018, there were over 22,000 shoplifting incidents in Florida
- The average value of merchandise stolen in a shoplifting incident is $377
- The majority of shoplifting incidents occur at retail stores, followed by supermarkets and pharmacies
- Shoplifting is most common among adults aged 18-24, followed by 25-34 year olds
- The majority of shoplifting incidents are committed by females (61%), followed by males (39%)
The penalties for shoplifting in Florida are as follows:
- First offense: misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000
- Second offense: felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000
- Third offense: felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
October 2, 2023Four Real & Spooky Halloween Lawsuits...
September 30, 2023Accident on Interstate 4 in Osceola County: A Somber Rem...
September 28, 20235 Things You Should Never Say: Scene of A Car Accident i...
September 28, 2023Why You Should Hire a Car Accident Attorney in Tampa, Fl...
About Your Case
We're ready to fight on your behalf. Request a free, no-risk consultation with our attorney's today.